Mail merge

5 JD-U MPs merge with BJP in Manipur

Imphal, Sep 3 (IANS): Five of the six Janata Dal-United (JD-U) MPs in Manipur merged with the ruling BJP on Friday night, officials said.

Manipur Assembly Secretary K. Meghajit Singh says President Thokchom Satyabrata Singh has agreed to the merger of the five JD-U MPs with BJP Legislative Party in Manipur Assembly under 10th Schedule of the Constitution.

The five lawmakers who joined the BJP are Khumukcham Joykisan Singh (Thangmeiband), Ngursanglur Sanate (Tipaimukh), Md. Achab Uddin (Jiribam), Thangjam Arunkumar (Wangkhei) and LM Khaute (Churachandpur).

In the February-March assembly elections, the JD-U won six seats out of 60 assembly members and gave its support to the BJP government led by Chief Minister N. Biren Singh.

The sixth MP who did not join the BJP is Md. Nasir, who was elected to the assembly in Lilong assembly constituency.

The opposition Congress criticized the decision of the JD-U deputies.

Manipur Pradesh Congress Spokesperson Ningombam Bupenda Meitei said in a tweet: “5 of the 6 Manipur JD(U) MPs merging with BJP are not only unconstitutional but the law also results in disqualification under the Constitution of India. There will be a move to the High Court to disqualify them. Save the Constitution, save Democracy.